Help Center - Installation 13

Activation and Deactivation

When you buy Zaxwerks software you are purchasing a license for a certain number of copies. When you install the software on a computer it will go through an activation process which enables it to run. If you need to move the software to another computer you must Deactivate the software on the first computer, then you can Activate it on the new computer.

To Deactivate the Zaxwerks software do the following:

1- Create a new project and add the Zaxwerks software to it or open an existing project that contains the Zaxwerks software.

2- Go to the Effect Controls, hold down the Control key on your keyboard and click the About button.

The example image below shows the About button for 3D Reflector:
About Button

- You will see a message telling you to make sure you are connected to the internet before you Deactivate, and then asking if you would like to Deactivate this computer only or if you would like to Deactivate all computers associated with this authorization code?

Here are what the three option do:

Cancel: Exits the Deactivation process leaving your computer still Activated.

Computer: This will Deactivate only this one computer. Use this option when you want to bounce from computer to computer.

All: This will Deactivate all computers that are using your same license. The Zaxwerks Software agreement lets you put an extra copy of the software on a second computer as long as you only use a single copy at a time. This is so you can work on your desktop computer and then work on your laptop computer without having to Activate and Deactivate over and over. However sometimes you may lose track of which computers have been Activated and would like to Deactivate every computer using this license.

NOTE: If your computer is already Deactivated, then when you Control+click the About button you will not see the Deactivation window. Instead you will see the Authorization window. This is how you change the Authorization code or remove it completely from this computer. See the section below on removing codes.

TIP: When you Deactivate you don't have to un-install the software. It is perfectly fine to leave the software on both computers and have one Activated at a time. We have made this process as easy as possible so you can Deactivate and Activate quickly, bouncing from one computer to the next and back again.

Activations and Render Farming

Your Software Agreement includes the ability to use the After Effects Render Engine without needing to Activate. You may copy the Zaxwerks software to your Render Engine machines without violating the terms of the license.

Removing Your Authorization Code

There are occasions when you may want to remove your Authorization code completely. This could happen when you sell your computer, or if you are a Freelancer who installed his own software on an employer's computer for a job and then want to remove it when the job is done.

To remove the Zaxwerks software authorization code follow these steps:

1- Create a new project and add the Zaxwerks software to it or open an existing project that contains the Zaxwerks software.

2- Go to the Effect Controls, hold down the Control key on your keyboard and click the About button.

The example image below shows the About button for 3D Reflector:
About Button

3- You will see a message telling you to make sure you are connected to the internet before you Deactivate, and then asking if you would like to Deactivate this computer only or if you would like to Deactivate all computers associated with this authorization code. Click the "Computer" button.

4- Again, go to the Effect Controls, hold down the Control key on your keyboard and click the About button.

5- This time you will see the Authorization window. Type the word REMOVE in the field where you would enter an authorization code. Then Click OK.

 

Back to Help Center